Published on November 23rd, 2019 | by Lydia Brooks


South African Hip Hop Awards 2019: All the winners

The winners for the 2019 edition of the South African Hip Hop Awards were announced at the Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg on Wednesday night.

The Song of the Year Award went to Yanga Chief’s ‘Utatakho’ while Shane Eagle emerged as the winner in the Mixtape of the Year category. Nadia Nakai and Flame took home the Best Female and Best Male awards respectively, while Fresh triumphed in the Freshman of the Year (Newcomer) category.

YoungstaCPT was announced the winner of the Album of the Year and Best Video Award while Cassper Nyovest came out on top in the Best Promoter and Best Hustler categories.

Nasty C and DJ PH took home the Best Digital Sales and Best DJ awards respectively.

Below is the full list of winners:

Song of the Year

‘Utatakho’ – Yanga Chief

‘Supa Dupa’ – K.O

‘Khethile Khethile’ – Kwesta ft. Makwa, Tshego AMG and Thee Legacy

‘You & I’ – Riky Rick ft. Mlindo the Vocalist

‘Right Now’ – Gemini Major ft. Nasty C and Tellaman

‘No Stress’ – DJ Speesta ft. Una Rams, Zoocci Coke Dope, and Da L.E.S

‘Hello’ – Beast ft. Sjava

‘Vur Vai’ – Kwesta

‘Ama Million’ – Big Zulu ft. Cassper Nyovest

Best Album of the Year

3T – YoungstaCPT

Thank Da King – Kid X

Ungqongqoshe Wongqongqoshe – Big Zulu

Candyman Flame – Candyman

Nadia Naked – Nadia Nakai

Mixtape of the Year

Never Grow Up – Shane Eagle

Job Woods – Gigi Lamayne

BottlebrushStr – DJ Speedsta

18 Flow – Touchline

Best Male


Kid X

Big Zulu

The Big Hash


Best Female

Nadia Nakai

Gigi Lamayne



DJ of the Year


DJ Speesta

DJ Akio

DJ Zan D

Ms Cosmo

Producer of the Year

Makwa Beats

Gemini Major


Zoocci Coke Dope

Best Collabo

‘Hello’ – Beast ft. Sjava

‘You & I’ – Riky Rick ft. Mlindo the Vocalist

‘Right Now’ – Gemini Major ft. Nasty C and Tellaman

‘Right Now’ – DJ Speedsta ft. Zoocci Coke Dope, Una Rams and Da L.E.S

‘Say You Will’ – K.O ft. Nandi Madida

Lyricist of the Year

Ginger Trill

Jimmy Wiz




Freshman of the Year (Newcomer)

Flame – CandyMan

The Big Hash – Young

Touchline – 18 Flow

Jimmy Wiz – Accordin’ to Jim

PatricKxxLEE – Nowhere Child

MVP/Hustler of the Year

Cassper Nyovest

Nadia Nakai

Nasty C


Riky Rick

Best Video

‘YVR’ – YoungstaCPT

‘Lost Hills’ – Vato Kayde ft. AKA and Gator

‘Supa Dupa’ – K.O

‘Hosh’ – Priddy Ugly ft. Wichi 1080 & YoungstaCPT

‘Sudden’ – Frank Casino ft. Cassper Nyovest and Major League DJz

Best Local Brand



StylaGang Original Designs

Y?Gen Apparel

Best International Brand

Castle Lite

Power Play


Russian Bear Vodka

Promoter of the Year

Fill Up

Pop Bottles

Cotton Fest

The Ivyson Tour

Durban Varsity fest

Best Remix

‘Culture Vulture’ (remix) – 25k ft. Emtee & AKA

‘Juju’ (remix) Yanga Chief ft. Kwesta

‘Warrior’(remix) – Zaddy Swag ft. DJ Capital, Touchline, Emtee, PdotO, Ab Crazy, Red Button and Big Star Johnson

‘Ap3x’ (remastered) – Shane Eagle ft. Bas

‘Yeah’ (remix) – DJ D Double ft. AKA, Da L.E.S and YoungstaCPT

Hennessy Honorary Award

Falko Graffiti Artist

Ubuntu Activism


Best Radio Show

Metro FM – Absolute Hip Hop

YFM – SA Hip Hop Live

Ukhozi FM – iNumba Numba

Ligwalagwala FM – Hip Hop Parliment

Good Hope FM ­– The Ready D Show

Massiv Metro – The Element

Motsweding FM – Motswako wa Hip Hop

Gagazi FM – The Fresh Cut

YFM – The Rodeo

5FM – The Stir Up

Best Digital sales

Nasty C

Tags: , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑